Background Information

Question 1: How to create consistent randomness?

I started by thinking along the lines of  splatter painting and liquid painting, but realized that would put too much paint on the canvas. I wanted to be able to fill in the dots between globs of random, not have the randomness take over the canvas. Then I came across a children’s art technique called balloon painting. I immediately knew which direction to take this project!

img_5646

I chose the idea of a stamp technique to create randomness because I could some control over the color placement. I wonder if repeating the pattern of chaos can give viewers the illusion that the “chaos”  was all planned. I enjoy the effects the stamping process brings to the paint. When you lift up to remove the stamp, you can drag the pool of colors in different directions. This adds a dripping wet look to the painting and is tons of fun to mess around with.

Thinking about stamp tools…

Final Choice of Instrumentation!

img_5627

Question 2: How to turn the randomness into order?

my brains a natural at this one… whatever happens will be perfect!

Process

Step 1: Paint a nice simple background. This should save a lot of time so I don’t have to go back to do tedious painting around the randomness .

I chose to do a simple two color fade with one color coming from the top of the page and the other coming from the bottom. I split the 8 canvas into two groups of 4. One group was given a red color scheme and the other a blue color scheme.

I ended up only using 6 of the canvas for this process and used the others to try a second method of randomness. This second method of randomness was taken from the project “Can I Just Play With Paint”. In this process I squirt random paint globs onto the canvas and then quickly combine them.

Step 2: Using the light bulb and plexiglass roller as stamps, I added touches of randomness to each of the 6 canvas.

IMG_5629.JPG

Step 3: I chose two of the “most complete” looking canvas from step 2 and removed them from this step calling them finished.

Stamp Method of Randomness ( no order)

Then I took the remaining 4 canvas from step 2, along with the 2 canvas from step 1 (which used the paint glob randomness method) and attempted to create “order”.

Glob Method of Randomness + Order

Stamp Method of Randomness + Order

img_5661

img_5667

img_5663

img_5665

The two pieces removed at step 2 without any “order” , got paired up with two images from step 3. I like the pairing of these images because the disorder on the left contrasts and emphasizes the order I created on the right.

IMG_5639.jpg

IMG_5640.jpg

Conclusion

I definitely want to try variations of this one again! The entire process was enjoyable and because there were was little need for controlled and fine brushstrokes my hands were happy too. I can think of endless ways I want to try the stamp method utilizing  new tools and color patterns.

Ideas for the future 

  •  project made entirely  out of stamping randomness
  • color factory: make the randomness appear out of simple buildings with an industrial effect and creating a factory which processes color
