Question: How will the paintings be differ based on which hand I use?  My right hand is faster than the left hand, will I even be able to speed paint with the left hand?

Background:

I’ve come across two methods for speed painting.The first style creates the appearance of a landscape. A soft fading background comes down from the sky and then while the background is still wet the foreground is brought up from the bottom of the canvas. This method creates some pretty cool highlights. The most important things to consider are the color choice and the amount of paint on the brush. Soft fades work best when you have the least amount of paint possible. This is tricky because if you don’t want to run out of the paint you need to reach the edge of the canvas. In the future I would like to try painting the edges prior to the start of the painting and exploring ways to go back and fix the ending of the fade.

The second style creates a floating world made of swirling brushstrokes. If I’m quick ,I can add in a few details to establish a deeper perspective. I can’t decide if this method works better with paint squeezed directly onto the canvas or if its better to get paint from the pallet.  In the future I want to repeat this method with the use of a retardant.

Both of the methods are currently size limited, so I will have to keep exploring ways to repeat the methods on bigger projects. Also, I’m only familiar doing these projects with my right hand. I know I will eventually be able to do the same thing with the left hand if I practice, but in the meantime I am going to try and find something I can do with the left hand as well. Everything I do with my body has to be balanced in order to keep my joints in place. Living in balance in the body and in the mind is the key to success. The key to painting is having a balanced relationship with the past, present and future. You must remember what you’ve learned from the past, look out for what you want in the future all the while you paint within the present moment.

Painting!

Landscape Fade Method #1

Love Is ComplicatedIMG_6541.jpg

Spiritual Flow IMG_6738.jpg

Floating World of Brushstrokes Method #2

My Green Worldimg_6563

Roller Coaster Rose img_6571

Left Hand Method #3 

Note that this set of paintings needed more than a single speed painting session to bring them to completion. The geometric lines were added in prior to the speed painting session.

I’ve Got Your Back img_6606

Opening Doors img_6611

Conclusion: After this project I think I can conclude that my art often looks better with less work. The idea of speed painting and the necessity to finish a thought in a single paint session helps me stay on track. I have a hard time working on my paintings in different paint sessions. They are so complex that by the time I sit back down to work on many of them I can’t remember what I was thinking when I made the original work. I’m working on creating things with a continuouse direction. This is how I help remind myself to stay on topic and on track for each painting. Understanding that the goal of a painting is to move towards an idea and that as long as I take steps in the correct direction I will get there. There is no rush to finishing a painting. Feeling rushed used to distract me from the overall purpose and I would move backwards and forwards while coming back to half finished pieces.  Now I can at least make progresses in the correct direction when I  come back to work on an partially finished piece. If I do take a few steps backwards, I take note of the problem instead of ignoring. I make sure to correct the”backwards” situation before continuing to try and move forward. Learning how to paint in an effective order seems to be the key to success.

