Ultimately, I would like to make brushes that works for both the shaky and floppy.  Here’s a set of brushes I made specifically for my friend Pat with Parkinson’s disease. They are designed for someone with a rigid grip.  I came up with the idea for how to make these brushes after watching her paint. Watching the way someone naturally holds a regular paint brush is the best way to see what kind of brush modifications you should make.

Pat painting (1)

The multi-grip brush: Instead of enlarging the entire handle of the brush, we left space between the enlarged grip to help steady the thumb.

Multi Grip Brushes

The perpendicular grip brush: This brush is great for somebody who has a rigid wrist. After some initial testing, I realized I would also benefit from this brush. With EDS, my wrists are  unstable so I avoid rotating them. I would like to figure out how to design a brush similar to this with an adjustable angle.

Brushes for wrist rigidity

 

The X brush: This brush is the same idea as the perpendicular grip brush except the perpendicular handle is made out of another brush instead of out of clay. This brush is also a good idea for people who have trouble reaching for the paint pallet. You can load the brush with two different colors at the same time. In the future, I will be making a new version of this brush with more than two brushes heads.

Experimental X Brush

Palmer grip brush: This brush is similar to the ones I use with a small egg shape on the end however this shape is better for someone with who grips the brush tightly.

Experimental Grip Brush

 

 

