EXPERIMENT 16 

Goal: The goal of this weeks experiment was to allow the natural evolution of 3 dimensional space.

Painting Procedure: First I painted the background in a somewhat random manner. My only intention when creating the background was to cover the entire canvas. I’ve found the most efficient way to do this is to work from the inside out. Painting the corners first helps makes the evolution of space appear more natural. After I paint the corners, I paint the edges and then the center last. Painting with acrylics is always a race against the drying time. With the 12” by 12” canvas, I don’t have any issues covering the whole canvas with enough time to blend. However, anything larger than 15” x 15” is quite a challenge.

Boom-2
Boom
Universal Construction_
Universal Construction
Window In The Sky_
Window In the Sky

Conclusion: “Building Space” was great practice for learning how to evolve a painting in a single direction. When I paint even a simple background, I find myself paying almost too much attention to the direction and shape of each brushstroke. I’m learning to utilize this occurrence. I’ve been trying to use it to help me paint within the semi randomness of brushstroke patterns. My style of brushstrokes are less random than average, due to my preference for back and forth motion and keen surveillance. Yet there is still some degree of natural chaos involved, especially when the mixing of colors in factored into things. As a painter, one of my goals is produce art within the flow of time. The goal is to continue along in a single direction and create something out of a seeming less nothing. I have let go of past intentions to produce a vision or even to clarify an idea. Now I just allow the image to come forth out of process of the painting itself.

This art blog was created for me to use as an art journal. I wanted a place to keep track of both my progress and pitfalls. During this journey, I’ve realized that lack of patience is quit a barrier towards being able to create the type of art I envision. I’ve always been a daydreamer and a doodler. Since I’ve lost the ability to steadily hold a pen, I’ve had an overflow of doodle goo come out in my recent paintings. I think many these paintings are best kept as quick sketches. Yet I find myself making these paintings too complex and messy. When I try and fill in the background, I inevitably find myself doodling in new thins. This problem can be attributed to the fact that I often lack the patience necessary to simply paint a simple background in before the paint sketch. It seems like such a simple thing, but creative energy and drive are hard to tame!

Notes For The Future: In the future I want to learn how to appropriately combine backgrounds with foreground elements. I understand them both individually, but can’t seem to bring them together as one. I know a simple fading background would look perfect behind my “paint sketches”, but I can’t figure out how to enlarge the full fading effects past 15” x 15”. Spray paint may be the answer to this dilemma. I will be looking to learn more about spray painting techniques and letting my mind wonder around other potential solutions to this dilemma.

