I’ve been investigating new ways to make durable, universal, ergonomic paint brushes. I want the brushes to be easily available for anyone in need. As soon as I figure out how to make brush handles that are universal, I’ll upload a file for 3D printing.

Before creating anything that might already be available, I started browsing through Thingiverse , a data base of shared files 3D modeling files. I found several interesting designs for brush handles and pen holders.

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 20.37.09

The ring designs are somewhat similar to the ring brushes I made out of polymer clay . Other than that, the brush modifications I’ve been making  are pretty different than the designs available through Thingiverse.

IMG_1994_preview_featured
The Most Practical Design: These tools are easily adjustable and could be made universal. 
DSC_2757_p_preview_featured
The Most Innovative Design: This hook hand is the perfect solution for anyone who has little control over their hands. I’ve been trying to come up with something similar for months now! 
f5d82ef49db2b66c79bf63b99713772b_preview_featured
The Most Unique Design: This pen would be perfect me since I can’t grip small things and have extra mobility and control over fine moments in my fingers, but I doubt it’s that helpful for dealing with the majority of impairment that affect the hands. 

If you have a Thingiverse account, you can follow my collection called Adaptive Art to see what else I stumble upon over the next few weeks.

 

