EXPERIMENT 20: Contrast

A black and white study of special effects using single brushstrokes.

Goal: Explore new brushes, tools, and materials for creating bold effects.

Procedure

1. Gather new materials

2. Test out new materials

3. Pay attention to how the absence of color effects the creative process

Painting

To check out the painting in action view the video below or continue to scroll for the final results!

IMG_0553-2IMG_0552-1IMG_0551-1

Conclusions

  • I must search for a better squeegee. There’s huge potential with these large brushstrokes once I find right tool.
  • I still ran out of space even on these giant 2″ x 4″ boards … I have to figure out how to contain my brushstrokes or find bigger things to paint on
  • Removing color is great way for me to start out a painting. Starting a painting with the two most contrasting paints is a good way to layout the lighting.
