Hold Lightly

img_6945I stopped doodling in 2013 because holding a pencil was too hard for my finger joints. Now I’m revisiting new ways to doodle that put less pressure on the joints. By painting with ergonomic brushes , I re-trained my hand to hold the brush lightly and balance the end of the brush between my fingers. It turns out , that this is actually the “correct” way to hold a paintbrush. The lighter you can grip, the more control you have over motion.

Embrace Your disABILITY

wiggle strokeI’ve also learned that I can draw or paint longer when my hand is in continuous motion. I have the most difficulty lifting the doodling instrument back off the page, so I’ve learned to create as much as possible from a single line. Because of my joint instability rhythmic motion is the most natural way to avoid muscle fatigue.  I used to get frustrated when my hand would give out in the middle of an important brushstroke, now I avoid the motions that where causing the problem and try to focus on creating things within this constant rhythmic motion. Everyone has a different struggle to overcome. I think it’s important to embrace any differences and/ or lack of control. Instead of trying to cover these things up, or fix them, it’s best to try to find a way to use them to your benefit.

Support Inactive Joints

IMG_7044

Another way to reduce muscle and joint strain is to properly support the body during the activity. It’s important to sit in a proper chair for your body type. Make the elbows are supported and in a neutral position by using a chair with an armrest and/or pillows. Make sure the neck is in a neutral position by using an inclined table or mirror glasses.

Check out my latest doodling method in action!

 

 

